Print Friendly, PDF & Email



Why do we call the members of the First Presidency and a Stake Presidency with the title of President?  There is only one President of those groups, so why do we refer to all three as “President”?




Dear Spud,

President Monson as senior Apostle is the President of the Church.  He, along with his counselors, Presidents Eyring and Uchtdorf  are members of  the Quorum of the Presidency of the Church.  This organization was revealed to Joseph Smith by the Lord in D&C 107:  22

“Of the Melchizedek Priesthood, three Presiding High Priests, chosen by the body, appointed and ordained to that office, and upheld by the confidence, faith, and prayer of the church, form a quorum of the Presidency of the Church.”   As members of this quorum they are called President.  The Lord revealed this title in verse 24 of the same section:   “And they form a quorum,  equal in authority and power to the three presidents previously mentioned.”

Elder Nelson speaking in April 1993 General Conference stated,

“Titles pertaining to the holy priesthood deserve our utmost care and respect. Each member of the First Presidency is addressed and spoken of as “President.” (See D&C 107:22, 24, 29.) The title “President” is also used when referring to the presidency of a stake or mission, and in reference to a quorum or branch president”.



Copyright © 2022 Ask Gramps - Q and A about Mormon Doctrine. All Rights Reserved.
This website is not owned by or affiliated with The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (sometimes called the Mormon or LDS Church). The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent the position of the Church. The views expressed by individual users are the responsibility of those users and do not necessarily represent the position of the Church. For the official Church websites, please visit or

Pin It on Pinterest